Smith Surges to Race 2 Victory – James Higgins Becomes 250th British F4 Winner

Sonny Smith (JHR Developments) claimed his first ROKiT British F4 podium finish of the season, heading straight to the top step. Phinsys by Argenti’s Isaac Barashi started from P1, holding the lead for the first 15 minutes of the 20 minute battle. Smith challenged on lap ten, taking the lead with Barashi then retiring due to an electrical issue.

Dedecker (Virtuosi Racing) took his first overall podium of the year, having claimed several Rookie Cup trophies, finishing second after a fourth place start, while Josh Irfan (Rodin Carlin) claimed third place having started in fifth. Smith’s victory took the tally of different winners this season to nine from 14 races with the number of podium finishers now reaching 18. Rodin Carlin’s Louis Sharp set the Motul Fastest Lap and claim a championship point.

Kanato Le from Hitech Pulse-Eight made the better start, moving ahead of James Higgins (Fortec Motorsport) on lap one. He continued to build a lead until lap five when he picked up a puncture which ended his podium hopes as he pitted for a new Pirelli PZero. Higgins assumed the lead with CDR’s Daniel Guinchard in hot pursuit followed by Will Macintyre (Hitech Pulse-Eight). With his new tyre, Le was on a charge and salvaged a point and the Motul Fastest Lap Award, but it was James Higgins who took the chequered flag first and became winner of race number 250 for British F4.

Louis Sharp has extended his championship lead to five points ahead of Will Macintyre by finishing fourth and sixth this weekend, with Dion Gowda (Rodin Carlin) in third and Kanato Le closing the gap to the lead in fourth. James Higgins jumped from eighth in the standings before the weekend to fifth.

Gustav Jonsson (CDR) has returned to the top of the Rookie Cup table, now 14 points ahead of Gabriel Stilp (Hitech Pulse-Eight)

Kai Dayanani (Virtuosi Racing) was Oulton Park’s Pirelli Hardest Charger, gaining a total of 13 places in races one and three.

Our partners