Sharp becomes 1st 2023 four-race winner – Macintyre retains championship lead

Louis Sharp converted his pole position to an early race lead in Race Three at Croft Circuit, however a series of  first lap incidents resulted in front-row starter James Higgins (Fortec Motorsport), team-mate Mika Abrahams and Pat Heuzenroeder (Phinsys by Argenti) all being stranded on track and necessitating a red flag.

The restart saw Sharp give another lights-to-flag performance despite a constant challenge from Will Macintyre (Hitech Pulse-Eight) in the opening corners, with the Motul Fastest Lap point adding to Sharp’s weekend tally. Sharp is the first driver of the 2023 season to have won four races. Standings leader Will Macintyre (Hitech Pulse-Eight) had his opportunity to attack Sharp for the win hindered by needing to defend against Deagen Fairclough (JHR) who was eagerly pushing for second place.

Sharp crossed the line 1.962 seconds ahead of Macintyre with Fairclough completing the podium; his fourth of the year and touchingly he dedicated this to Bob Fearnley, a leading figure in motorsport who was fundamental in the ROKiT Star programme that enabled Fairclough’s 2023 campaign.

Josh Irfan (Rodin Carlin) finished fifth and lies third in the Rookie Cup which continues to be led by Gustav Jonsson (CDR). Jonsson finished seventh having gained five places in the race, which contributed to him winning the Pirelli Hardest Charger accolade for Croft Circuit. He receives a set of Pirelli P Zero tyres for testing.

After 20 of 30 races in the championship, it’s tight at the top with Will Macintyre’s margin reducing to just six points from Louis Sharp in second place.

Rodin Carlin continues to hold an advantage over Hitech Pulse-Eight in the Team’s Cup.

Our partners