Bumper Grid For ROKiT British F4 2023 Donington Park Season Opener

Changes for British F4 2023 include a complete grid reversal for race two which should ensure plenty of overtaking action. Also new is that the fastest time set in qualifying sets pole position for race three. The weekend’s first race order is determined by the second fastest time set in qualifying. 

Who are the ones to watch? Jack Sherwood (Chris Dittmann Racing), Isaac Barashi and Jaden Pariat (Phinsys by Argenti), and James Higgins (Fortec Motorsport) return after their tasters at the end of 2022, with winter testing to help them prepare for their full 2023 campaigns. Rodin Carlin’s Louis Sharp has every chance of being a front runner; the New Zealander finished fourth overall last year, with 12 podiums including two wins, despite being too young to compete in the first event of the year. Daniel Guinchard performed well in the Rookie class at Donington and has a year of experience and a race win under his belt before moving to CDR for 2023.

New for 2023 includes Deagen Fairclough, ROKiT Racing Star esports winner. As 2022 British Kart champion and double World Finals winner, Gabriel Stilp arrives at Hitech Pulse-Eight with a strong pedigree. Fellow Hitech Pulse-Eight team-mate Will Macintyre is used to success, graduating to British F4 as Ginetta Junior Rookie Champion. Virtuosi’s Kai Daryanani chose yet another route to British F4, moving from karts to a UAE winter campaign in preparation. The full entry list will be revealed on Thursday.

Donington Park’s National circuit layout is the drivers’ first chance to make their mark with the fantastic atmosphere of the TOCA paddock and crowds to spur them on. Among others, the Rookie Cup was won in 2015 by Dan Ticktum, now a NIO 33 Formula E driver, and Dennis Hauger (2018) who clinched his first Formula 2 win in Australia this month. Five rookies are set to compete for 2023 honours: Rodin Carlin’s Josh Irfan, Gustav Jonsson (CDR), Isaac Barashi (Argenti), Douwe Dedecker (Virtuosi) and Gabriel Stilp.

It’s about more than drivers – teams compete too. Hitech Pulse-Eight’s Alex Dunne sealed the 2022 Drivers’ title, but it was Carlin that took the Teams’ Championship. Seven teams are battling for Teams Championship honours in 2023, all seasoned single seater teams involved in pathways into or from British Formula 4. The highest two scoring entries per team count towards the Teams’ Championship points.

Join ROKiT British F4 at Donington Park, Leicestershire this weekend, 22-23 April.

Tickets and timetable available here:

Sunday coverage of the event live on free to air TV can be seen from 10.45 on ITV4

Our partners