Zak O’Sullivan stamps his authority with double pole at Brands Hatch

Points leader Zak O’Sullivan stamped his authority on the rest of the field with an emphatic double pole position in qualifying for this weekend’s F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost triple header at Brands Hatch GP.

The Carlin racer clocked a best time of 1:27.255 around the 2.4-mile Kent circuit to eclipse Arden’s Alex Connor – the double pole-sitter at the same venue in 2019 – by a tenth of a second on both fastest and second-fastest times.

Fortec Motorsport’s Luke Browning put in two last-ditch efforts to haul himself up into the top three, and will share the second row with JHR Developments’ Abbi Pulling, whilst practice pacesetter Casper Stevenson (Argenti) – one of several drivers to head the timesheets at some stage in a frenetic session – rounds out the top five.

Stevenson’s team mate Nico Pino put in a strong showing to break into the top six, pushing Fortec Motorsport’s Roberto Faria into seventh, and into third for the final race courtesy of a strong second-quickest time.

That also means Pino heads up the Rookie Cup runners for the opening race, with Carlin’s Christian Mansell eighth and Matias Zagazeta tenth behind the second ‘Red Arrow’ of Roman Bilinski (Arden).

Frederick Lubin (Arden) is next, ahead of Donington Park podium-finisher Rafael Villagomez (Fortec), with Nat Hodgkiss (JHR) and Reema Juffali (Argenti) set to resume their thrilling on-track skirmishes from Leicestershire from the seventh row.

JHR’s James Hedley will round out the 15 starters for Rounds 4 & 6, and unfortunately did not take part in qualifying after a mechanical problem in the assembly area.

The opening race of the weekend is scheduled to get underway at 14:15 (BST).

Provisional Grid – Round 4

Pos. Name Team Time
1 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin 1:27.255s
2 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport +0.130s
3 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport +0.298s
4 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.374s
5 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +0.400s
6 Nico PINO Argenti Motorsport +0.429s
7 Roberto FARIA Fortec Motorsport +0.465s
8 Christian MANSELL Carlin +0.615s
9 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +0.671s
10 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +0.745s
11 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +0.925s
12 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +0.928s
13 Nathanael HODGKISS JHR Developments +1.005s
14 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +1.383s
15 James HEDLEY JHR Developments No Time

Provisional Grid – Round 6

Pos. Name Team Time
1 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin 1:27.506s
2 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport +0.100s
3 Nico PINO Argenti Motorsport +0.252s
4 Roberto FARIA Fortec Motorsport +0.267s
5 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport +0.324s
6 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +0.332s
7 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.379s
8 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +0.511s
9 Christian MANSELL Carlin +0.519s
10 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +0.874s
11 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +0.892s
12 Nathanael HODGKISS JHR Developments +0.916s
13 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +1.224s
14 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.567s
15 James HEDLEY JHR Developments No Time