Matias Zagazeta sets early benchmark in first practice session

Phinsys by Argenti’s Matias Zagazeta ended the opening F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session of the weekend at Snetterton at the top of the timesheet.

The Peruvian set a best time of 1:51.987 seconds around the 2.97-mile Norfolk circuit, enough to move him two tenths clear of nearest challenger Oliver Gray (Fortec Motorsport).

Arden Motorsport’s Zak Taylor rounded out the top three a further tenth back, the vast majority of the field setting their best lap times on their final run.

Current Rookie Cup points leader McKenzy Cresswell was fourth in the leading JHR Developments challenger, with Eduardo Coseteng (Phinsys by Argenti) rounding a top five covered by half a second.

Roman Bilinski was just three thousandths adrift of Coseteng in sixth for Carlin, with Thruxton double pole-sitter Matthew Rees (JHR) behind in seventh.

It proved to be a mixed session for the two drivers at the championship summit; Joel Granfors was eighth quickest after setting an identical lap time to Rees, albeit later in the session, but a mechanical problem for points leader James Hedley restricted his running, leaving the BRDC Rising Star at the foot of the times.

Marcos Flack made it all three Argenti cars in the top ten with the ninth-fastest time, 0.060s ahead of Abbi Pulling (JHR), who will be looking to kickstart her championship bid in Norfolk this weekend.

Thruxton race winner Joseph Loake was eleventh in the final JHR challenger, with Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak next in 12th.

Georgi Dimitrov marked his first outing on a British F4 weekend with 13th in the sole Richardson Racing entry. Carlin duo Kai Askey and Dougie Bolger were next, with Thomas Ikin (Arden), Hedley and the other newcomer to the grid, David Morales, rounding out the 18-car field.

The weekend continues with second practice at 13:40 BST.

Session Result – Free Practice 1

Pos. Name Team Lap Time
1 Matias ZAGAZETA Phinsys by Argenti 1:51.987s
2 Oliver GRAY Fortec Motorsport +0.237s
3 Zak TAYLOR Arden Motorsport +0.357s
4 McKenzy CRESSWELL JHR Developments +0.413s
5 Eduardo COSETENG Phinsys by Argenti +0.508s
6 Roman BILINSKI Carlin +0.511s
7 Matthew REES JHR Developments +0.529s
8 Joel GRANFORS Fortec Motorsport +0.529s
9 Marcos FLACK Phinsys by Argenti +0.540s
10 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.600s
11 Joseph LOAKE JHR Developments +0.645s
12 Tasanapol INTHRAPHUVASAK Carlin +0.899s
13 Georgi DIMITROV Richardson Racing +0.913s
14 Kai ASKEY Carlin +0.964s
15 Dougie BOLGER Carlin +1.019s
16 Thomas IKIN Arden Motorsport +1.040s
17 James HEDLEY Fortec Motorsport +1.954s
18 David MORALES Arden Motorsport +2.726s