Win number two for Herta and a Carlin 1-2 in Snetterton finale

  • Pole-to-flag win for Colton Herta ahead of his team-mate Lando Norris
  • Ricky Collard’s ninth sees his championship points lead cut to 10

SNETTERTON 9 AUGUST, 2015 – Colton Herta delivered another inch-prefect performance at Snetterton this afternoon to add a second MSA Formula win to his racing CV. This time the 15-year-old Californian took the lead with a rocketship getaway from pole position ahead of his Carlin team-mate Lando Norris and never looked in danger of coming under serious threat.

Herta’s Ford EcoBoost-powered machine led all the way and crossed the line 2.5s clear of his pursuer, with Fortec’s Dan Ticktum close behind for third.

If Herta had any nerves about starting from the pole resulting from his spin from the lead in yesterday’s Snetterton opener, he did not show them. Colton said after his podium celebrations, and collecting the Ford £1000 winner’s cheque, that he hoped his season had now turned a corner: “I think we’ll do well from now on. I thought we had the speed coming here and so it has proved, and all thanks to Carlin for giving me a great car.”

Norris chased for all he was worth, with Herta unable to extend his advantage beyond 1.5s until the closing laps, but Lando knew he would have to rely on an error from his team-mate if he was to find a way past. “It’s a bit better than yesterday,” said Lando, “because I finished second and not third, but it was a hard race. I just about kept Dan behind but I struggled a bit while Colton has done a great job all weekend. We have a few things to work on before Knockhill.”

Norris came under attack from Ticktum around Riches and Montreal on the opening lap but managed to repulse the move. Thereafter Ticktum was unable to challenge Norris but nonetheless collected his third podium of the Snetterton weekend, and a Rookie class hat-trick. Behind him, the runners in fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh held their position from the first lap to the last, Sennan Fielding (JHR) leading home Petru Florescu (Carlin), Tarun Reddy (Double R) and Enaam Ahmed (TRS Arden).

Championship leader Ricky Collard started from the very back of the grid after technical problems in qualifying and set about the task of clawing his way through the order with typical gusto. Ricky made it into the top nine by lap five but Jack Barlow (MBM) proved immovable from eighth position despite a concerted last-lap attack from Collard. Ricky went to Snetterton with a 25-point championship lead over Norris; he leaves Norfolk with his advantage cut to just 10.

Rafa Martins’ hard work over the weekend paid off with a 10th-place finish for SWB Motorsport, with Jessica Hawkins 11th for Falcon Motorsport and her best finish of the season. JTR drivers Dan Baybutt and James Pull were next up, with Richardson Racing duo Louise Richardson and Ollie Pidgley completing the top 15.

Fortec had one car at the sharp end and two at the rear – Josh Smith 19th after a pit visit with mechanical woes and Toby Sowery retiring with fuel pressure issues. Sandy Mitchell was another pit-caller, with throttle problems, the Scotsman continuing to 20th. Poor Matheus Leist failed to make the grid, his Double R car suffering engine trouble immediately pre-race.

Provisional results Round 18 Snetterton 9 August 2015
11 laps / 32.66 miles
1 Colton HERTA / USA / Carlin 20m 54.341s / 93.72mph
2 Lando NORRIS / GBR / Carlin +2.462s
3 Daniel TICKTUM / GBR / Fortec +2.798s
4 Sennan FIELDING / GBR / JHR +8.165s
5 Petru FLORESCU / ROU / Carlin +8.691s
6 Tarun REDDY / IND / Double R +11.339s
7 Enaam AHMED / GBR / TRS Arden +17.376s
8 Jack BARLOW / GBR / MBM +22.917s
9 Ricky COLLARD / GBR / TRS Arden +23.079s
10 Rafael MARTINS / BRA / SWB +27.146s etc
Fastest lap Herta 1m 52.879s / 94.68mph

Rookie class 1 Ticktum; 2 Florescu; 3 Ahmed; 4 Martins; 5 Daniel BAYBUTT / GBR / JTR; 6 Darius KARBALEY / GBR / Falcon; 7 Ameya VAIDYANATHAN / IND / JTR; 8 Josh SMITH / GBR / Fortec ; 9 Sandy MITCHELL / GBR / TRS Arden

Provisional championship standings
1 Collard 244 points; 2 Norris 234; 3 Ticktum 208; 4 Fielding 178; 5 Matheus Leist 168; 6 Herta 160; 7 Mitchell 107; 8 James Pull 80; 9 Reddy 79; 10 Barlow 72 etc
Rookie class 1 Ticktum 320; 2 Baybutt 224; 3 Florescu 221; 4 Mitchell 218; 5 Ahmed 210 etc

Full times