Tommy Foster and Arden quickest in first practice at Thruxton

  • Arden Motorsport racer sets the pace in ultra-competitive first practice session at Thruxton.
  • Top seven split by just 0.2s around 2.36-mile Hampshire circuit.
  • Second practice session scheduled to get underway at 13:10.

Tommy Foster’s late improvement was enough to hand the Arden Motorsport racer top spot in the first F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Thruxton.

A quickest time of 1:13.629 seconds around the 2.36-mile Hampshire speedbowl proved enough to edge out Josh Skelton (JHR) by a mere 0.014s, with the level of competition in Britain’s FIA-sanctioned Formula 4 series underlined once again, as four different drivers enjoyed a stint at the top of the timesheets and the top seven split by just 0.2s at the chequered flag.

Skelton had been the pace-setter for much of the session after trading fastest lap times with team-mate Carter Williams in the opening exchanges, before a red flag after a spin for Bart Horsten (Arden) on the exit of the Complex brought the session to a 10-minute halt.

When it resumed, a flurry of late improvements in the final quarter of an hour changed the dynamic of the top ten, with Foster, then championship leader Sebastian Alvarez (Double R), then Skelton all enjoying a stint at the front before Foster finally made the position his with less than five minutes remaining.

Carlin’s Zane Maloney had a relatively quiet session but made late strides to go fourth fastest, two hundredths of a second quicker than Williams behind in the second JHR machine.

Brands Hatch race-winners Louis Foster (Double R) and Luke Browning were split by Arden’s Alex Connor in sixth, seventh and eighth respectively, with Horsten and Fortec Motorsport’s Roberto Faria completing the top ten, the latter after a late jump on Reema Juffali, who completed the joint-most laps of anybody with front-runner Foster.

Carlin’s Joe Turney and Fortec’s Mariano Martinez are absent from testing today with prior commitments.

The second practice session at Thruxton is scheduled to get underway at 13:10 (UK time).

Session Result

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport 1:13.629s
2 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.014s
3 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.018s
4 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin +0.095s
5 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +0.114s
6 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.199s
7 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.233s
8 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.543s
9 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.789s
10 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.924s
11 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +0.930s