Ticktum shines at Rockingham in MSA test

  • Dan Ticktum follows up on his test-day successes of Snetterton and Silverstone to claim fastest lap time of the day
  • Less than a second covers top 10 in super-close Rockingham session

ROCKINGHAM, 18 March, 2015 – Dan Ticktum continued his strong run of testing form at Rockingham, the West Sussex 15-year-old claiming fastest time of the day at the wheel of his Ford EcoBoost-powered and Fortec Motorsports-prepared car in the final collective test day of the MSA Formula pre-season.

Just as at Silverstone earlier in the week and at Snetterton at the beginning of the month, Ticktum proved himself more than a match for his rivals, finding nearly a second in pace on fresh tyres in the afternoon session to end the day on top by a quarter of a second.

Carlin team-mates Colton Herta and Lando Norris ran Ticktum closest, with less than a second covering the top 10 on the timesheet. Arden’s Ricky Collard was the quickest in the morning session by two-hundredths from Herta but could not find any extra pace in the generally quicker afternoon session.

One of the biggest improvers of the day was JTR’s Dan Baybutt, who put an early spin into the gravel behind him to find 1.2s in the afternoon to improve to eighth overall, close behind his team-mate James Pull. There were good showings also from Sennan Fielding, seventh on his first proper run in the JHR Developments car, and from Alex Gill, testing a Fortec MSA Formula-Ford for the first time.

The next time the MSA Formula grid will be all together on track against the clock will be at Brands Hatch on 3 April, just ahead of the opening rounds of the championship.

Testing times Rockingham 18/3/15 (am/pm)
1 Daniel TICKTUM / GBR Fortec / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:18.979 / 1:18.062
2 Colton HERTA / USA Carlin / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:18.558 / 1:18.316
3 Lando NORRIS / GBR Carlin / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:18.589 / 1:18.369
4 Matheus LEIST / BRA Double R / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:19.173 / 1:18.475
5 James PULL / GBR JTR / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:19.000 / 1:18.506
6 Ricky COLLARD / GBR Arden / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:18.532 / 1:18.929
7 Sennan FIELDING / GBR JHR / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:18.731 / 1:18.935
8 Daniel BAYBUTT / GBR JTR / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:20.187 / 1:18.909
9 Alex GILL / GBR Fortec / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:19.711 / 1:18.976
10 Sandy MITCHELL / GBR Arden / MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:19.160 / 1:19.049s etc

Full TSL timesheets