Sebastian Alvarez and Double R lead the way in opening practice

  • Sebastian Alvarez sets the pace in season-opening practice session at Brands Hatch.
  • Top eight remarkably split by less than four tenths around 1.20-mile Indy circuit.
  • Bets are off in Ford’s winning formula as competition intensifies ahead of curtain-raising triple-header live on ITV4.

Reigning champions Double R Racing re-asserted their authority in the opening F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Brands Hatch, with series returnee Sebastian Alvarez quickest.

The Mexican racer went unchallenged for most of the session, clocking a best lap of 46.455 seconds around the 1.20-mile Indy circuit on his final run to edge out Carlin’s Zane Maloney by 0.066s, with JHR Developments’ Josh Skelton a further tenth back in third.

“I’m really happy with how this morning went, it’s great to start the weekend on a high,” said Alvarez.

“It’s tomorrow that matters the most but the team and I are confident going into the weekend so it’s just about performing like I know we can.”

Alvarez’s team-mate Louis Foster was fourth on his first competitive outing in Ford EcoBoost-powered machinery, with JHR’s Carter Williams rounding out the top five.

Alex Connor led Arden Motorsport team-mate Tommy Foster in sixth and seventh respectively, whilst karting graduate Joe Turney – a late addition to the field with Carlin on Thursday evening – put in a solid showing in eighth.

Remarkably, that cluster were separated by less than four tenths of a second – an early indicator that British F4’s reputation as the most competitive FIA-sanctioned Formula 4 series worldwide is here to stay in 2019.

Bart Horsten was ninth, whilst Roberto Faria rounded out the top ten in the leading Fortec Motorsport machine.

Richardson Racing’s Luke Browning was eleventh, with Mariano Martinez and Reema Juffali completing the thirteen runners.

The second free practice session at Brands Hatch gets underway at 13:40.

Session Result

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing 46.455s
2 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin +0.066s
3 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.128s
4 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.196s
5 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +0.228s
6 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.293s
7 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.339s
8 Joe TURNEY (R) Carlin +0.339s
9 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.393s
10 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.637s
11 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.804s
12 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +2.299s
13 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +2.489s