Sandy Mitchell signs for Arden’s MSA Formula squad

  • Scottish youngster excited to be joining top team for his graduation from karting

Super One Rotax Series5 January, 2015 – Arden Junior Racing Team has today announced its first signing for the new MSA Formula championship – British Super One Junior Max Kart Champion Sandy Mitchell. Forfar-based Sandy turns 15 in March, a month ahead of the Brands Hatch opening rounds of the new Ford EcoBoost-powered and FIA-certified junior single-seater series.

Sandy, who hopes to follow in the wheeltracks of illustrious former Super One winners Lewis Hamilton, Jenson Button and David Coulthard, says he is ready to make the leap from karts to cars: “Driving with Arden in this amazing new MSA Formula championship will really be something special. The new MSA Formula car looks fantastic and I am now fully focused on the transition from karting to single seaters.”

Arden team principal Garry Horner said: “We are very pleased to have Sandy as our first signing for the 2015 season. We have an established relationship with the Mitchell family since last year when Sandy joined the Young Racing Driver Academy. He is the first driver from the academy to progress into a single-seater championship, demonstrating the importance of the programme.”

Arden, which has secured three chassis for the coming MSA Formula season, was founded by Christian Horner and his father Garry at the beginning of 1997 to contest the FIA F3000 Championship. In 2014 it fielded teams in GP3, GP2 and World Series.

Mitchell took his first exploratory karting laps at his home circuit of Knockhill in 2008 and went on to win his first championship title, in the NSKC Honda Cadet Championship at Golspie, the following season, aged nine. He went on to claim further Scottish titles in 2010 and made his debut on English tracks in 2011, taking the British Honda Cadet Open Championship crown in 2012. His 2014 Super One Junior Max title victory was sealed at the championship finale in September.

Arden is one of 12 teams which will contest MSA Formula – Certified by FIA, Powered by Ford EcoBoost. The 30-race championship offers live TV and a support-race slot alongside the British Touring Car Championship. Carlin, Double R Racing, Falcon Motorsport, Fortec Motorsport, JHR Developments, JTR, MBM Motorsport, Richardson Racing, Scorpio Motorsport, SWB Motorsport and Team Pyro will join Arden on the grid, their drivers bidding to win a slice of the £30,000 cash prize fund and a Hankook-provided prize for the champion of a test drive with a leading FIA Formula 3 team.