Rees secures crucial pole position at Donington Park

Matthew Rees claimed a crucial brace of pole positions in qualifying for this weekends F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost triple header at Donington Park.

The Welsh teenager arrives trailing Phinsys by Argenti racer Matias Zagazeta by 17 points at the championship summit with six races to go, but gave himself every opportunity to claw back that gap this weekend with a benchmark time of 1:07.873 around the 1.95-mile East Midlands venue.

That put Rees two tenths of a second clear of his JHR Developments team-mate McKenzy Cresswell, third in the points, completing a front-row lockout for the team and increasing their chances of toppling Fortec for the lead in the Teams Cup this time out, the gap currently at 29 markers.

In a session hit by a steady stream of track limit infringements, Aiden Neate (Argenti) was the highest-placed driver to not fall foul of track limits; the 15-year-old will start from third, as he continues to build on podium finishes in each of the past two meetings.

Joseph Loake rounded out a near-perfect session for Steven Hunter’s outfit in fourth, with the sole Fortec Motorsport challenger in Joel Granfors’ hands rounding out the top five runners.

Crucially, in terms of the title race, Zagazeta will start only eighth for the opening race of the weekend, the Peruvian ending the session behind team-mate Eduardo Coseteng and the leading Carlin machine of Dougie Bolger.

Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak, James Hedley and Kai Askey finished in successive order to complete positions ninth through eleventh for Trevor Carlin’s eponymous outfit, Marcos Flack just behind in 12th spot to round out Argenti’s quartet.

Arden Motorsport’s Red Arrows complete the 16-car field on this occasion, Zak Taylor leading team-mates Georgi Dimitrov, Cameron McLeod and David Morales, who will start from pole position for the weekend’s second race on Sunday morning.

Session Result – Qualifying

Pos. Name Team Time
1 Matthew REES JHR Developments 1:07.873s
2 McKenzy CRESSWELL JHR Developments +0.210s
3 Aiden NEATE Phinsys by Argenti +0.283s
4 Joseph LOAKE JHR Developments +0.384s
5 Joel GRANFORS Fortec Motorsport +0.391s
6 Eduardo COSETENG Phinsys by Argenti +0.468s
7 Dougie BOLGER Carlin +0.579s
8 Matias ZAGAZETA Phinsys by Argenti +0.606s
9 Tasanapol INTHRAPHUVASAK Carlin +0.695s
10 James HEDLEY Carlin +0.826s
11 Kai ASKEY Carlin +0.967s
12 Marcos FLACK Phinsys by Argenti +0.970s
13 Zak TAYLOR Arden Motorsport +0.986s
14 Georgi DIMITROV Arden Motorsport +1.012s
15 Cameron McLEOD Arden Motorsport +1.364s
16 David MORALES Arden Motorsport +1.596s