R1: Rees resists Cresswell pressure to win, ties for championship lead

Matthew Rees converted pole position into a lights-to-flag victory to open the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost’s triple header at Donington Park with his third win of the season.

The victory, secured by just 0.430 seconds over team-mate Cresswell, moves Rees level on points at the championship summit with Phinsys by Argenti’s Matias Zagazeta – sixth on this occasion – with the Peruvian ahead courtesy of his four wins versus Rees’ three.

Aside from a couple of early lock-ups into Redgate, Rees cut a composed figure out front as both he and Cresswell broke away from the pack.

An opportunity for Cresswell to pass never presented itself, despite the pair running nose-to-tail for the majority of the 20-minute contest, and they duly took the chequered flag to wrap up a 1-2 finish for JHR that ensures Steven Hunter’s outfit leap-frog Fortec into top spot in the Teams Cup.

It also ensures Rees extends his Rookie Cup advantage over Cresswell to 32 points with six races remaining. Eduardo Coseteng (Argenti) was a notable third, the Filipino racer’s maiden silverware carrying extra significance as it ensures each of Ford’s rising stars on the grid this season have claimed a podium finish.

Joseph Loake retained his fourth place starting spot, but the results don’t tell the story; after slipping behind Zagazeta at the start, the Macclesfield racer rallied, re-passing the championship leader shortly thereafter before annexing fourth on the outside of Aiden Neate at Redgate.

From there, he went unchallenged to the flag, completing a near-perfect result for JHR in first, second and fourth. Neate took fifth ahead of Zagazeta, with James Hedley enjoying an improved run to seventh in the leading Carlin challenger.

Joel Granfors (Fortec Motorsport) was eighth after a five-second time penalty for infringing track limits. The same applies to Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak (Carlin), who ultimately wound up 11th behind Marcos Flack (Argenti) and his team-mate Dougie Bolger respectively.

Kai Askey (Carlin) was next across the line, with Zak Taylor besting Georgi Dimitrov to lead home Arden’s quartet of Red Arrows, the finishers completed by David Morales and Cameron McLeod.

The weekend continues with the reverse grid race at 11:05 (BST) on Sunday morning.

Provisional Result – Round 25

Pos. Name Team Laps
1 Matthew REES JHR Developments 18 laps
2 McKenzy CRESSWELL JHR Developments +0.430s
3 Eduardo COSETENG Phinsys by Argenti +2.629s
4 Joseph LOAKE JHR Developments +7.404s
5 Aiden NEATE Phinsys by Argenti +8.870s
6 Matias ZAGAZETA Phinsys by Argenti +9.216s
7 James HEDLEY Carlin +10.835s
8 Joel GRANFORS Fortec Motorsport +14.374s*
9 Marcos FLACK Phinsys by Argenti +15.975s
10 Dougie BOLGER Carlin +18.482s
11 Tasanapol INTHRAPHUVASAK Carlin +19.747s*
12 Kai ASKEY Carlin +22.820s
13 Zak TAYLOR Arden Motorsport +24.256s
14 Georgi DIMITROV Arden Motorsport +24.430s
15 David MORALES Arden Motorsport +24.969s
16 Cameron McLEOD Arden Motorsport +25.387s
DNF Aiden NEATE Phinsys by Argenti +19 laps