Quinn claims win following Florescu exclusion

14 AUGUST, 2016 – Following investigations into on-track incidents in Round 20 of the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford, the result from Round 19 of the Championship has been amended.

Officials chose to exclude Petru Florescu from the Knockhill meeting due a trackside altercation during Round 20 and record six penalty points on his licence. Devlin DeFrancesco and Jamie Caroline have both been handed ten place grid penalties to be taken when possible to do so and three penalty points on their respective licences.

Florescu’s exclusion means that Fortec Motorsports’ and Racing Steps Foundation backed Alex Quinn becomes the winner of Round 19 of the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford and sees Double R’s Zane Goddard promoted to the final podium place.

Amended provisional results Knockhill 13 August 2016
20 laps / 25.3 miles
1 Alex QUINN / GBR / Fortec 20m 45.077s / 73.25mph
2 Devlin DEFRANCESCO / CDN / Carlin +0.461s
3 Zane GODDARD / AUS / Double R +0.850s
4 Jamie CAROLINE / GBR / Fortec +3.102s
5 Luis LEEDS / AUS / Arden +4.678s
6 James PULL / GBR / Carlin +5.552s
7 Max FEWTRELL / GBR / Carlin +5.766s
8 Jack MARTIN / GBR / Arden +8.823s
9 Ayrton SIMMONS +10.198s
10 Nicolai KJAERGAARD / DEN / Fortec +11.239s etc.

Fastest lap Max Fewtrell / Carlin 50.226s / 90.81mph

Rookie class 1 Quinn, 2 Martin, 3 Simmons, 4 Kjaergaard

Full times