Phinsys by Argenti’s Aiden Neate leads final Silverstone practice

Phinsys by Argenti’s Aiden Neate set the benchmark time in the final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session of the weekend at Silverstone.

The 15-year-old, fresh from his maiden podium in Britain’s FIA Formula 4 series at Croft last weekend – set the quickest time of the 40-minute session on his first run, clocking a time of 56.261 seconds around the 1.6-mile National circuit.

As has been the trend in testing so far this week, his nearest rival – JHR Developments’ Matthew Rees – was close behind, just 0.042s shy of Neate’s effort, with fellow Argenti racer Eduardo Coseteng a strong third.

Current championship leader Matias Zagazeta continued the trend for Michael Meadows’ outfit in fourth, the Peruvian half a tenth clear of Joel Granfors, the Swede rounding out the top five in the leading Fortec Motorsport challenger.

McKenzy Cresswell, pace-setter in the morning’s running, was sixth on this occasion for JHR, with team-mate Joseph Loake for company in seventh just behind. Marcos Flack made it all four Argenti-run machines inside the top ten with eighth, with Oliver Gray (Fortec) and the leading Red Arrow of Zak Taylor (Arden) completing those ten fastest runners.

Kai Askey (Carlin) was 11th, with Taylor’s Arden team-mates Georgi Dimitrov and David Morales close behind. Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak, James Hedley and Dougie Bolger were 14th, 15th and 16th respectively, the 17-car field rounded out by newcomer Cameron McLeod, still only a tenth shy off the series’ regular faces.

Qualifying determines the grid for the weekend’s triple-header of races at 10:55 (BST) tomorrow.

Session Result – Free Practice 2:


Pos. Name Team Time
1 Aiden NEATE Phinsys by Argenti 56.261s
2 Matthew REES JHR Developments +0.042s
3 Eduardo COSETENG Phinsys by Argenti +0.180s
4 Matias ZAGAZETA Phinsys by Argenti +0.233s
5 Joel GRANFORS Fortec Motorsport +0.280s
6 McKenzy CRESSWELL JHR Developments +0.308s
7 Joseph LOAKE JHR Developments +0.366s
8 Marcos FLACK Phinsys by Argenti +0.396s
9 Oliver GRAY Fortec Motorsport +0.424s
10 Zak TAYLOR Arden Motorsport +0.445s
11 Kai ASKEY Carlin +0.446s
12 David MORALES Arden Motorsport +0.451s
13 Georgi DIMITROV Arden Motorsport +0.500s
14 Tasanapol INTHRAPHUVASAK Carlin +0.531s
15 James HEDLEY Carlin +0.580s
16 Dougie BOLGER Carlin +0.641s
17 Cameron McLEOD Arden Motorsport +0.809s