Pendulum swings in Maloney’s direction in opening Snetterton practice

  • Carlin racer leads the way once again in opening Snetterton practice.
  • Eight different drivers take a turn in front in an ultra-competitive session in the Norfolk sunshine.
  • Practice continues with FP2 at 13:45 this afternoon.

Championship leader Zane Maloney just edged out Double R Racing’s Sebastian Alvarez to head up the time sheets in the opening F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Snetterton.

The Carlin racer clocked a best time of 1:51.150s on his second run around the 2.99-mile Norfolk circuit to pick up where he left off from in-season testing last week, and will undoubtedly be aiming to extend his 55-point lead in the standings when competitive action begins tomorrow.

That doesn’t quite tell the whole story of the session, however, with no fewer than eight different drivers – Richardson Racing’s Luke Browning, JHR duo Carter Williams and Josh Skelton, Double R’s trio of Alvarez, Louis Foster and Reema Juffali, as well as Maloney – taking a turn atop the time sheets.

Foster ended the session third, just over half a second adrift of his team-mate and Maloney, with the Arden Motorsport duo of Alex Connor and Bart Horsten behind in fourth and fifth respectively.

Then came the fastest of JHR’s runners, with Williams leading Skelton ahead of a Fortec Motorsport sandwich, Roberto Faria and Mariano Martinez ending the session either side of Browning to round out the top ten.

Tommy Foster was eleventh, with the final Double R car of Reema Juffali and JHR’s Alex Walker rounding out the field.

The second practice session of the weekend is scheduled to get underway at 13:45 BST.

Provisional Result – FP1

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin 1:51.160s
2 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.019s
3 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.510s
4 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.880s
5 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +1.065s
6 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +1.081s
7 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +1.175s
8 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +1.317s
9 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +1.580s
10 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.915s
11 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +1.998s
12 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +2.099s
13 Alex WALKER (R) JHR Developments +2.200s