O’Sullivan heads ultra-competitive final practice at Thruxton

Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan hit the front in a remarkably close final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Thruxton, with the top five split by just a tenth of a second.

The 15-year old – once a race winner and five times a podium finisher at the high-speed 2.3-mile Hampshire circuit in Ginetta Juniors last season – set a blistering 1:13.829 on his final run to beat championship rival Luke Browning (Fortec) and Argenti’s Casper Stevenson by just 0.019 and 0.062 seconds respectively.

And, with JHR pairing Abbi Pulling and James Hedley – fastest this morning – just 0.092 and 0.103 seconds back in fourth and fifth, the ingredients are all there for another nail-biting qualifying session amongst Ford’s rising stars tomorrow morning.

Drafting practice proved to be the order of the afternoon, with that all-important tow set to play a crucial role in deciding the grids for Races 1 and 3 on Saturday morning.

Behind Hedley in sixth was Alex Connor in the leading Arden Motorsport challenger; team-mate Frederick Lubin was eighth once again behind Carlin’s Christian Mansell, the Aussie making it ‘two for two’ in the Rookie stakes across both practice sessions.

The third and final Red Arrow, Roman Bilinski, improved to ninth, with Fortec’s Rafael Villagomez rounding out the top ten, just 0.027s further back.

Reema Juffali (Argenti) and the final Carlin challenger of Matias Zagazeta round out the field, with qualifying set to mark the start of competitive action at Thruxton at 09:00 (BST) tomorrow [19 September].

Session Result – Free Practice 2

Pos. Name Team Time Laps
1 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin 1:13.829s 28
2 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport +0.019s 27
3 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +0.062s 26
4 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.092s 27
5 James HEDLEY JHR Developments +0.103s 27
6 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport +0.334s 25
7 Christian MANSELL Carlin +0.509s 28
8 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +0.570s 25
9 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +0.609s 25
10 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +0.636s 25
11 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +0.682s 28
12 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +1.201 28