O’Sullivan back at the top in red flag interrupted final practice

Points leader Zak O’Sullivan returned to the top of the timesheets in a red flag-strewn final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Brands Hatch (GP).

The Carlin racer stormed to a best time of 1:28.333 around the 2.4-mile Kent circuit after lunch – marginally adrift of Casper Stevenson’s benchmark time from the morning – to secure top spot in the final session before qualifying tomorrow.

The gap behind O’Sullivan could scarcely have been closer, however, with second-placed James Hedley (JHR) and Arden’s Alex Connor – both race winners last weekend at Donington Park – just 0.021 and 0.057 seconds adrift respectively.

Fortec’s Luke Browning bounced back from mechanical issues earlier in the day to register the fourth-best time, with Argenti’s Nico Pino rounding out the top five.

Abbi Pulling was sixth, ahead of Stevenson, who ended the session in the gravel after an off that brought out one of three red flag breaks. Roberto Faria was eighth, with Nat Hodgkiss (JHR) and Christian Mansell (Carlin) completing the top ten.

Less than half a tenth separated Mansell from Carlin team mate Matias Zagazeta in eleventh; Arden’s remaining Red Arrows Roman Bilinski and Frederick Lubin were twelfth and thirteenth.

Rafael Villagomez (Fortec) was next, the field completed by Reema Juffali (Argenti).

Competitive action for the weekend begins at 09:00 tomorrow morning with qualifying.

Classification – Free Practice 2

Pos. Name Team Time Laps
1 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin 1:28.333s 19
2 James HEDLEY JHR Developments +0.021s 17
3 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport +0.057s 19
4 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport +0.363s 8
5 Nico PINO Argenti Motorsport +0.538s 16
6 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.627s 19
7 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +0.652s 6
8 Roberto FARIA Fortec Motorsport +0.691s 20
9 Nathanael HODGKISS JHR Developments +0.771s 17
10 Christian MANSELL Carlin +0.783s 19
11 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +0.831s 16
12 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +0.981s 19
13 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +1.188s 19
14 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.337s 12
15 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +1.606s 16