New benchmark for pacesetter Zagazeta in second session

Argenti Motorsport’s Matias Zagazeta topped the timesheets once again in the second F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost test session of the day at Brands Hatch.

This time, the Peruvian lowered the benchmark marginally, with a 45.734 on the best of his 73 laps of the 1.16-mile Indy circuit after the lunch break. That put him two tenths clear of JHR’s Abbi Pulling, who joined Zagazeta as the only other driver to break the 45-second barrier.

The third and fourth-quickest times for Marcos Flack (Argenti) and McKenzy Cresswell (JHR) respectively concluded a solid day for the pair, with Tsanapol Inthraphuvasak rounding out the top five in the leading Carlin challenger.

Team mate Roman Bilinski was close, however, just 0.012 seconds adrift in sixth, and a further tenth clear of Matthew Rees (JHR) in seventh.

James Hedley (Fortec) improved to eighth after the lunch break, whilst Dougie Bolger (Carlin) made it a brace of top-ten showings in ninth.

JHR’s Joseph Loake enjoyed a better run following an engine change after an off at Graham Hill in the morning, and clocked the 11th fastest time, half a tenth shy of Joel Granfors ahead.

Oliver Gray (Fortec), Richardson’s Georgi Dimitrov, Carlin’s Kai Askey and Arden Motorsport pairing Zak Taylor and Thomas Ikin concluded the top 16 runners – all within a second of the benchmark time – with Eduardo Coseteng just a tenth further back on a highly-competitive day across the board.

The next official test day takes place at the Season Launch at Silverstone, Northamptonshire, on Saturday 27th March.

Session Result – PM Test

Pos. Name Team Time Laps
1 Matias ZAGAZETA Argenti Motorsport 45.734s 73
2 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.229s 82
3 Marcos FLACK Argenti Motorsport +0.350s 71
4 McKenzy CRESSWELL JHR Developments +0.502s 99
5 Tasanapol INTHRAPHUVASAK Carlin +0.504s 71
6 Roman BILINSKI Carlin +0.516s 66
7 Matthew REES JHR Developments +0.657s 69
8 James HEDLEY Fortec Motorsport +0.663s 86
9 Dougie BOLGER Carlin +0.748s 68
10 Joel GRANFORS Fortec Motorsport +0.766s 76
11 Joseph LOAKE JHR Developments +0.819s 74
12 Oliver GRAY Fortec Motorsport +0.840s 75
13 Georgi DIMITROV Richardson Racing +0.874s 84
14 Kai ASKEY Carlin +0.880s 69
15 Zak TAYLOR Arden Motorsport +0.941s 66
16 Thomas IKIN Arden Motorsport +0.995s 95
17 Eduardo COSETENG Argenti Motorsport +1.120s 75