MSA Formula chassis on show at Autosport

  • Pride of place for new Ford EcoBoost-powered car on MSA’s own stand at NEC

2015 MSA Formula5 January, 2015 – Britain’s newest and most exciting junior single-seater championship, MSA Formula, is set to take a central role at the official launch of the UK racing season, the Autosport International racing car show, at Birmingham’s NEC this week (8-11 January).

Fresh from extensive development testing at the Magny-Cours circuit in France, the Ford EcoBoost-powered FIA Formula 4 car will take centre stage on the stand of British motorsport’s governing body, the MSA, and personnel from the championship will be on hand throughout the show’s four days to meet prospective competitors.

“With the first MSA Formula cars now in the hands of our 12 teams, and the Autosport Show upon us, this milestone season is really getting underway,” said championship manager Sam Roach. “We have already seen a number of driver announcements, and more competitors are due to be revealed very soon: everything looks set for a brilliant inaugural season.”

The MSA Formula chassis, built by Mygale, is designed around FIA F3-level safety requirements, including front and rear impact-absorbing structures, anti-intrusion side panels, roll hoops, FIA head restraint system, wheel restraining cables, FIA safety seat and retractable steering wheel and column. Motive power is the 1.6-litre DI turbocharged EcoBoost – a mainstay of Ford’s performance car range, designed and manufactured by Ford in Britain.

MSA Formula – Certified by FIA, Powered by Ford EcoBoost is Britain’s official version of the FIA’s Formula 4 concept and will be the British Touring Car Championship’s single-seater support series, enjoying live TV coverage and bumper raceday spectator attendance. The 12 teams who will contest it are Arden Motorsport, Carlin, Double R Racing, Falcon Motorsport, Fortec Motorsport, JHR Developments, JTR, MBM Motorsport, Richardson Racing, Scorpio Motorsport, SWB Motorsport and Team Pyro.

The championship will be decided over 30 races; three at each of the 10 BTCC meetings to be held between April and October.