Maloney quickest in morning session with unofficial lap record

Carlin’s Zane Maloney set a new unofficial lap record in the morning session on the opening day of the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost’s two-day test at Croft.

As expected, the recent resurfacing of the 2.1-mile Yorkshire circuit led to a significant drop on lap times in recent years, with Dennis Hauger’s pole time of 1:21.001 from 2018 lasting a mere ten minutes as Double R Racing’s Sebastian Alvarez hit the front on a 1:20.7s.

He would eventually be bested by Thruxton double race-winner Maloney, who posted a time of 1:19.604 to head up the time sheets before the lunch break and topple Zane Goddard’s 2016 benchmark by over a second.

Alvarez’s team-mate and title rival Louis Foster completed the top three despite an off, 0.043s clear of Joe Turney, the British and World X30 karting champion confirmed to remain at Carlin for the Croft triple-header.

Arden Motorsport’s Bart Horsten and JHR Developments’ Josh Skelton complete a top six split by less than half a second.

Tommy Foster was seventh despite an off at the exit of Tower that necessitated a new front wing and brought out a red flag stoppage, whilst Fortec Motorsport’s Roberto Faria continued to make solid progress in eighth.

Luke Browning was ninth in the sole Richardson Racing machine, with the final ‘Red Arrow’ of Alex Connor completing the top ten.

Mariano Martinez was eleventh ahead of Reema Juffali – another to have an off-track excursion – whilst Carter Williams did not participate in the 3.5-hour session.

The second of four sessions spread out over the two days gets underway at 14:00 BST.

Session Result – AM (Tuesday)

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin 1m19.604s
2 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.107s
3 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.405s
4 Joe TURNEY (R) Carlin +0.448s
5 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.466s
6 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.485s
7 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.592s
8 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.655s
9 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.747s
10 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +1.034s
11 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.260s
12 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +2.031s