Late effort secures pole position at Thruxton for Louis Foster

  • Championship leader leaves it late to claim third pole of 2019 in Ford EcoBoost-powered category at Thruxton.
  • Problems for Foster’s Double R team-mate and closest rival, Sebastian Alvarez, only ninth.
  • Opening race at 2.4-mile Hampshire circuit set to get underway at 15:45 BST.

Local hero Louis Foster put in a dramatic late improvement to secure pole position for the opening F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost race at Thruxton this weekend.

In the closest qualifying session yet for Ford’s next generation of rising stars in 2019, the top ten were split by a mere 0.7 seconds around the 2.4-mile Hampshire circuit.

A best effort of 1:13.479 seconds in the dying embers of the session proved enough for Foster to deny Carlin’s Zane Maloney – currently leading the Rookie Cup standings – a maiden pole by just 0.076s.

It also means Foster, the current championship leader, will have a golden opportunity to extend his current 17-point advantage at the top of the standings with team-mate and chief title rival thus far, Sebastian Alvarez, only ninth.

Arden Motorsport’s Tommy Foster delivered on his promising showing in testing a month prior with a career-best third as he looks to put his title challenge back on track, with the Cornish racer also on pole position for race three courtesy of having the quickest second-best lap time.

The second Carlin machine of Joe Turney will start alongside from fourth, with the British and World X30 karting champion aiming to mark his final scheduled appearance in the Ford EcoBoost-powered category with a maiden victory – and the £5,000 Ford Rookie Award for winning a race outright.

Josh Skelton led JHR Developments’ charge in fifth, with Richardson Racing’s Luke Browning sixth after another late improvement.

At one stage Carter Williams (JHR) had been in contention for top spot, but the American dropped down the time sheets as the session wore on and was eventually classified seventh, with Donington Park race-winner Bart Horsten (Arden) in eighth.

Alvarez spent the majority of the session in the pit lane and only took to the circuit late on to qualify ninth, with Alex Connor rounding out the top ten ahead of Roberto Faria, Mariano Martinez (both Fortec) and the final Double R car of Reema Juffali.

The opening race at Thruxton is scheduled to get underway at 15:45 BST.

Grid for Race 1

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing 1m13.479s
2 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin +0.076s
3 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.080s
4 Joe TURNEY (R) Carlin +0.164s
5 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.198s
6 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.232s
7 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +0.232s
8 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.479s
9 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.667s
10 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.701s
11 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.825s
12 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +0.925s
13 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +1.483s

Grid for Race 3

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport 1m13.576s
2 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin +0.017s
3 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.099s
4 Joe TURNEY (R) Carlin +0.164s
5 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +0.191s
6 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.215s
7 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.431s
8 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.455s
9 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.687s
10 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.900s
11 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.035s
12 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +1.161s
13 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +1.992s