Late charge puts Louis Foster out front in second practice

  • Double R racer sets the benchmark with final flying effort.
  • Points leader Maloney second, closest rival Alvarez eighth after problem at Clark’s.
  • Final practice session around 1.26-mile Fife circuit starts at 16:10.

Louis Foster’s final effort in the second F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Knockhill proved enough to send the Double R racer to the top of the time sheets.

Foster – an avid fan of the challenging 1.26-mile Fife circuit – left it late to deny championship leader Zane Maloney (Carlin) the honours in Scotland, his late improvement to a 49.345 a new benchmark for the day so far.

On a weekend where Foster’s form needs to be near-perfect to keep his championship hopes alive, the result will give the BRDC Rising Star a boost heading into the final session today, then qualifying tomorrow.

Arden Motorsport’s Bart Horsten continued to impress in third, only a mere 0.088 seconds adrift of Foster in top spot.

Behind him, JHR duo Josh Skelton and Carter Williams took fourth and fifth respectively as they aim for a repeat of their Thruxton masterclass. Skelton briefly led for a time, but slipped back a little in the final ten minutes.

Alex Connor and Tommy Foster (both Arden) were sixth and seventh, ahead of Double R’s Sebastian Alvarez.

The Mexican brought about the only red-flag stoppage of the 45-minute session, his car slowing on the run out of Clark’s before returning to pit lane at greatly reduced speed.

Roberto Faria led Fortec Motorsport’s charge in ninth, with Luke Browning (Richardson Racing) rounding out the top ten after making repairs throughout the morning.

Reema Juffali (Double R) edged out Abbie Munro (Arden) by 0.027s in eleventh and tweflth, with Mariano Martinez rounding out the thirteen runners.

The final free practice session of the day gets underway at 16:10 (BST).

Session Result – Free Practice 2

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing 49.345s
2 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin +0.018s
3 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.088s
4 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.113s
5 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +0.290s
6 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.312s
7 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.353s
8 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.355s
9 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.600s
10 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.639s
11 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +1.034s
12 Abbie MUNRO Arden Motorsport +1.061s
13 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.296s