Kiern Jewiss, Ayrton Simmons and Arden Motorsport honoured at BRSCC Awards

  • Drivers’ Champion Jewiss, runner-up Simmons and Teams’ Champions Arden all receive their British F4 trophies at the annual BRSCC Awards.
  • Annual prize-giving at the Crowne Plaza in Stratford-upon-Avon brings down the curtain on 2018, with focus now shifting to 2019’s instalment of Ford’s winning formula.

The F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost was out in force at the annual BRSCC Awards dinner last weekend [2nd February], with reigning Drivers’ Champion Kiern Jewiss and Teams’ Champions Arden Motorsport amongst those honoured.

MB Partners-backed racer Jewiss, who recently announced his graduation to the BRDC Formula 3 Championship with Douglas Motorsport, claimed the Drivers title in superlative fashion in his maiden season of single-seater racing with six race victories and a further twelve podium finishes.

He received his trophy in front of a packed ballroom at the Crowne Plaza in Stratford-upon-Avon to great acclaim.

“It’s fantastic to be at the BRSCC Awards night collecting my British F4 trophy,” commented Jewiss.

“Formula 4 has been such a valuable platform for my development, and I feel well-equipped now taking the next steps up the junior single-seater ladder.

“Once again, I’d just like to thank everybody at Double R Racing for their efforts this season, all my sponsors, management and supporters – and to the championship organisers for putting such a great package together.”

He was joined by runner-up Ayrton Simmons, who is also set to join a distinguished list of Britain’s FIA-sanctioned Formula 4 series’ alumni, the likes of which include Formula 1 driver Lando Norris, IndyCar Series racer Colton Herta, Red Bull Junior Dan Ticktum and Formula Renault Eurocup Champion Max Fewtrell.

“It’s great to be here tonight,” added Simmons.

“I’m really proud of everything I’ve achieved in British F4 and here’s to continuing that success in the future. Thanks to everybody at JHR Developments for their part in this success.”

Arden Motorsport were also on hand to receive the Teams’ accolade, with outgoing Team Principal Ben Bloomfield joined on stage by his successor, Gary Ward.

“I would like to say a big ‘thank you’ to all the team,” said Bloomfield.

“I’d like to thank the drivers, all of whom scored points towards the Teams’ Championship this year.

“Thanks to RacingLine for doing a great job in organising the championship, and to Ford for their support of it.

“Everybody at Arden Motorsport is honoured to be a part of British F4 again in 2019.”

Another ten-event, thirty-race season gets underway at Brands Hatch (Indy) over the weekend of 6th-7th April.