Joe Turney quickest as Carlin hit the front in afternoon practice

Joe Turney recovered from a spin at Deer Leap to post the quickest time of the afternoon in the final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Oulton Park.

In a truncated session hit by three red-flag stoppages, the Carlin racer clocked a best lap time of 1:23.548 seconds – a new benchmark for the weekend so far – to edge out team-mate and championship leader Zane Maloney by a mere 0.008 seconds around the 2.26-mile Island circuit.

The first red flag came courtesy of simultaneous problems for Fortec Motorsport duo Roberto Faria and Mariano Martinez on their initial out lap, with both stopping out on circuit separately.

Both would make it back to the pits, albeit on a recovery vehicle in Faria’s case, and Martinez duly rejoined the fray in the closing moments. Title contender Sebastian Alvarez was the other to hit issues, and Turney’s spin coming out of Lodge up Deer Leap was responsible for the final stoppage.

When the action resumed, it was FP1 pace-setter Josh Skelton’s JHR machine that led the way, and was the only man to break into the 1:23s for much of the afternoon’s running.

A flurry of late improvements, however, relegated Skelton to third behind Turney and Maloney, with team-mate Carter Williams improving in the final thirty seconds to register the fourth quickest time, just half a tenth further adrift.

Louis Foster made quiet progress en route to fifth in the leading Double R Racing machine, with the sole Richardson Racing entry of Luke Browning in sixth at his local event.

Then came Arden Motorsport’s trio of Red Arrows, with Alex Connor leading the way ahead of Bart Horsten and Tommy Foster, the trio incredibly separated by just 0.049s.

Reema Juffali rounded out the top ten ahead of championship newcomer Alex Walker (JHR) and the recovering Martinez in twelfth.

Then came those in strife – Alvarez ahead of Faria – with both set to strike back when the action resumes at 09:05 BST tomorrow during qualifying.

Free Practice 2 – Provisional Result

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Joe TURNEY (R) Carlin 1m23.548s
2 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin +0.008s
3 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.151s
4 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +0.203s
5 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.285s
6 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.306s
7 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.675s
8 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.683s
9 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.724s
10 Reema JUFFALI DoubleĀ  R Racing +1.568s
11 Alex WALKER (R) JHR Developments +2.064s
12 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +2.720s
13 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +16.756s
14 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport No time.