JHR Developments end pre-weekend testing on top form

Matthew Rees led the way in the final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session of the weekend at Snetterton as JHR Developments ended Friday on the front foot.

A best time of 1:52.483 around the 2.97-mile circuit proved enough for the Welsh racer to take top spot by a tenth of a second over Carlin’s Roman Bilinski, with Rees’ JHR team-mate McKenzy Cresswell a strong third having led earlier in the session.

And, with Abbi Pulling and Joseph Loake fifth and eighth respectively, Steven Hunter’s outfit end pre-event testing with all four cars inside the top ten ahead of what looks to be another closely-fought qualifying session tomorrow morning.

Championship leader James Hedley split Cresswell and Pulling in fourth spot, his Fortec Motorsport challenger now back in fighting form after an issue this morning, whilst Matias Zagazeta (Phinsys by Argenti) – the pacesetter from this morning – clocked the sixth-fastest time.

Ollie Gray was seventh ahead of Loake and Carlin’s Kai Askey, with the final Fortec challenger of Joel Granfors completing the top ten as they too look to build on a strong start to the campaign at Thruxton last time out.

Zak Taylor led the charge for Arden Motorsport in 11th, whilst Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak (Carlin) and Georgi Dimitrov (Richardson Racing) were separated by just a tenth in 12th and 13th respectively.

Thomas Ikin enjoyed a better run to 14th, 0.003s adrift of Dimitrov in the second of the Red Arrows, leading fellow Rookie Cup contenders Dougie Bolger (Carlin), Eduardo Coseteng and Marcos Flack (both Argenti), with David Morales next in 18th.

With practice concluded, the field now turns their attention to qualifying and the first two races of the weekend, with the action in Norfolk set to begin at 09:05 BST tomorrow (12 June).

Session Result – Free Practice 2

Pos. Name Team Lap Time
1 Matthew REES JHR Developments 1:52.483s
2 Roman BILINSKI Carlin +0.135s
3 McKenzy CRESSWELL JHR Developments +0.228s
4 James HEDLEY Fortec Motorsport +0.321s
5 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.358s
6 Matias ZAGAZETA Phinsys by Argenti +0.465s
7 Oliver GRAY Fortec Motorsport +0.537s
8 Joseph LOAKE JHR Developments +0.566s
9 Kai ASKEY Carlin +0.717s
10 Joel GRANFORS Fortec Motorsport +0.720s
11 Zak TAYLOR Arden Motorsport +0.813s
12 Tasanapol INTHRAPHUVASAK Carlin +0.824s
13 Georgi DIMITROV Richardson Racing +0.983s
14 Thomas IKIN Arden Motorsport +0.986s
15 Dougie BOLGER Carlin +1.050s
16 Eduardo COSETENG Phinsys by Argenti +1.187s
17 Marcos FLACK Phinsys by Argenti +1.348s
18 David MORALES Arden Motorsport +2.526s