James Hedley storms to pole at Donington Park season opener

JHR Developments’ James Hedley took pole position on his single seater debut ahead of the 2020 F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost season opener at Donington Park later today.

The reigning Ginetta Junior champion improved late to set a benchmark time of 1:08.184 around the 1.97-mile National circuit and make the perfect start to life in Britain’s FIA Formula 4 series, edging out Fortec Motorsport’s Roberto Faria by 0.085 seconds.

Faria was in turn just 0.013s clear of his team mate Luke Browning, as Richard Dutton’s outfit look to start the campaign with a double trip to the podium.

Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan led the charge for the reigning champions in fourth, a mere tenth adrift, with practice pacesetter Alex Connor (Arden Motorsport) rounding out the top five.

Abbi Pulling (JHR) made a late charge into the top six, putting Argenti Motorsport’s Casper Stevenson down one spot into seventh, whilst similarly late gains promoted Roman Bilinski to eighth.

Carlin team mates Christian Mansell and Matias Zagazeta round out the top ten as the leading Rookies in the field, with Rafael Villagomez (Fortec) and Frederick Lubin (Arden) just behind.

The 15-car field for this afternoon’s season opener is completed by Nathanael Hodgkiss (JHR), Nico Pino and Reema Juffali (both Argenti).

For Race 3 on Sunday afternoon, Roberto Faria will assume pole position courtesy of his second-fastest time, with Hedley once again on the front row for company and Browning just behind in third.

Connor and O’Sullivan swap places for fourth and fifth respectively in that regard; Stevenson will complete the top six for the ITV4-televised finale.

Provisional Classification – Qualifying (for Race 1)

Pos. Name Team Time
1 James HEDLEY JHR Developments 1:08.184
2 Roberto FARIA Fortec Motorsport +0.085s
3 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport +0.098s
4 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin +0.152s
5 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport +0.210s
6 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.370s
7 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +0.471s
8 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +0.592s
9 Christian MANSELL Carlin +0.690s
10 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +0.693s
11 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +0.857s
12 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +0.857s
13 Nathanael HODGKISS JHR Developments +0.975s
14 Nico PINO Argenti Motorsport +1.107s
15 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +1.297s

Provisional Classification – Qualifying (for Race 3)

Pos. Name Team Time
1 Roberto FARIA Fortec Motorsport 1:08.276s
2 James HEDLEY JHR Developments +0.012s
3 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport +0.042s
4 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport +0.125s
5 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin +0.136s
6 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +0.484s
7 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.508s
8 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +0.621s
9 Christian MANSELL Carlin +0.672s
10 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +0.699s
11 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +0.790s
12 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +0.896s
13 Nathanael HODGKISS JHR Developments +0.968s
14 Nico PINO Argenti Motorsport +1.095s
15 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +1.257s