James Hedley quickest at wet-dry Thruxton test day

JHR Developments’ James Hedley set the pace on a drying track at the final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost pre-season test at Thruxton.

Ford’s rising stars arrived to wet conditions at the 2.3-mile Hampshire circuit as teams and drivers put in their final preparations before this weekend’s season opener at Donington Park.

Fortec and Argenti initially shared the limelight in the inclement conditions, with Luke Browning, Roberto Faria and Casper Stevenson setting the pace across the first four 40-minute sessions on wet tyres.

The weather improved as the day wore on, with slick tyres the weapon of choice for the final 30-minute sprint.

As the benchmark fell lap-on-lap, it would be Hedley that charged to top spot, clocking an impressive 1:13.845 – just four tenths shy of Louis Foster’s 2019 pole position time – to round out the day on a high note.

“It’s been a really good day, with lots of positives to take out of it,” said Hedley.

“I think it was good it was wet today, because I think it’s going to be wet here for the race as well.

“We’ve been consistently up there at all the tests, so I don’t expect anything different at Donington.”

Unsurprisingly, the order on cumulative times across the day largely reflected the result of the final, slick-shod session.

Series returnees Faria and Alex Connor (Arden) were second and fourth, split by the Argenti machine of Nico Pino. Stevenson, who set the pace at the first test at Snetterton, rounded out the top five.

Luke Browning was next ahead of Hedley’s team mate Abbi Pulling, then Carlin duo Zak O’Sullivan and Matias Zagazeta.

Rafael Villagomez completes the top ten, with Christian Mansell (Carlin) and Arden’s Roman Bilinski just behind – incredibly the top 12 were split by scarcely 1.2 seconds.

The 2020 season begins at Donington Park, Leicestershire, over the weekend of 01-02 August.

Combined Classification – Thruxton Test

Pos. Name Team Time
1 James HEDLEY JHR Developments 1:13.845s
2 Roberto FARIA Fortec Motorsport +0.204s
3 Nico PINO Argenti Motorsport +0.284s
4 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport +0.361s
5 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +0.369s
6 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport +0.583s
7 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.588s
8 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin +0.842s
9 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +0.951s
10 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.130s
11 Christian MANSELL Carlin +1.136s
12 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +1.174s
13 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +1.445s
14 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +1.489s