Herta outpaces rivals at Donington Park

  • Carlin’s US ace Colton pips Arden’s Sandy Mitchell to Donington test time top spot
  • Overheating woes curtail Josh Smith’s exploits

DONINGTON PARK, 5 March, 2015 – The youngest driver yet to sign to contest the Ford EcoBoost-powered MSA Formula championship, Carlin’s Colton Herta, emerged quickest today at Donington Park in the third collective test session of the pre-season.

Colton, son of IndyCar race winner Bryan, was seventh fastest in the morning test session but in the afternoon found nine-tenths of a second around the 1.98-mile Donington National circuit to pip Arden racer Sandy Mitchell to top spot on the timesheets by just two-hundredths of a second.

Herta’s Carlin team-mate Lando Norris was quickest in the morning, by a tenth from Arden’s Ricky Collard, but Norris slipped to third fastest overall in the afternoon despite improving his pace by two-tenths of a second.

Fortec’s Racing Steps Foundation driver Josh Smith suffered a trying day: the Cumbrian youngster ran off track during the morning session and his engine ingested cut grass, overheating as a result. Smith covered only 32 laps as a result, 100 and more less than his rivals were able to get under their belts.

Less than a second covered the top nine runners on track at Donington today. Next week the Ford EcoBoost-powered MSA Formula stars roll into the Cheshire circuit of Oulton Park for further pre-season testing.



Testing times Donington Park 5/3/15 (am/pm)
1 Colton HERTA/USA Carlin MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:08.990 / 1:08.070
2 Sandy MITCHELL/GBR Arden MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:08.643 / 1:08.090
3 Lando NORRIS/GBR Carlin MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:08.411 / 1:08.220
4 Daniel TICKTUM/GBR Fortec MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:08.819 / 1:08.272
5 James PULL/GBR JTR MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:08.885 / 1:08.488
6 Daniel BAYBUTT/GBR JTR MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:08.955 / 1:08.491
7 Ricky COLLARD/GBR Arden MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:08.514 / 1:08.525
8 Petru FLORESCU/ROU Carlin MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:09.548 / 1:08.733
9 Rafa MARTINS/BRA SWB MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:10.044 / 1:08.984
10 Enaam AHMED/GBR Arden MSA Formula-Ford EcoBoost 1:09.978 / 1:09.171 etc

Full TSL times