FP2: Rees tops times in red-flag interrupted final session

Points leader Matthew Rees lay down a marker for his rivals with the fastest time in the final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session of the weekend at Croft.

Despite a third of the session taking place under red flags, Rees – recently nominated for the prestigious Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award – was able to set a benchmark time of 1:19.858 to eclipse his JHR Developments team-mate McKenzy Cresswell by 0.3 seconds.

Inthraphuvasak, one of four drivers to enjoy a stint atop the timesheets, ultimately ended the running in third for Carlin, the top five behind him completed by FP1 pace-setter Aiden Neate (Phinsys by Argenti) and Zak Taylor’s Arden Motorsport challenger.

Joseph Loake rounded out another strong session for Steven Hunter’s trio with the sixth-fastest time, with 0.011s blanketing Rees’ chief title rival Matias Zagazeta (Argenti), Carlin’s Dougie Bolger and Marcos Flack (also Argenti) in seventh, eighth and ninth respectively.

Joel Granfors rounded out the ten quickest runners for Fortec Motorsport, just ahead of Kai Askey (Carlin) and David Morales (Arden Motorsport), the latter still riding the crest of a wave after his maiden podium finish at Thruxton last time out.

James Hedley enjoyed a slightly improved run to the 13th-fastest time for Carlin, the BRDC Rising Star also receiving a nominee for Autosport’s prestigious award alongside Rees earlier this week, just ahead of Ollie Gray (Fortec Motorsport).

Arden’s newest recruit Georgi Dimitrov was next, with Eduardo Coseteng rounding out the 16-car field for Phinsys by Argenti.

Session Result – Free Practice 2:

Pos. Name Team Lap Time
1 Matthew REES JHR Developments 1:19.858s
2 McKenzy CRESSWELL JHR Developments +0.325s
3 Tasanapol INTHRAPHUVASAK Carlin +0.331s
4 Aiden NEATE Phinsys by Argenti +0.569s
5 Zak TAYLOR Arden Motorsport +0.582s
6 Joseph LOAKE JHR Developments +0.650s
7 Matias ZAGAZETA Phinsys by Argenti +0.730s
8 Dougie BOLGER Carlin +0.740s
9 Marcos FLACK Phinsys by Argenti +0.751s
10 Joel GRANFORS Fortec Motorsport +0.824s
11 Kai ASKEY Carlin +0.870s
12 David MORALES Arden Motorsport +1.066s
13 James HEDLEY Carlin +1.078s
14 Ollie GRAY Fortec Motorsport +1.130s
15 Georgi DIMITROV Arden Motorsport +1.545s
16 Eduardo COSETENG Phinsys by Argenti +1.555s