Double pole for Lundqvist at Croft

10 JUNE, 2017 – Linus Lundqvist continued his perfect weekend at Croft in the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost by putting his Double R Racing-prepared car on pole for both Rounds 13 and 15.

Lundqvist snatched pole after an almighty tussle at the top of the times with Carlin’s Jamie Caroline. P1 swung back and forth between Lundqvist and Caroline during the session. The latter recorded a time of 1m 30.180s which looked as though it would not be beat with just several minutes remaining.

Lundqvist rose to the challenge and on his penultimate flying lap recorded a time of 1m 30.055s. Both were the only men to break the 1m 31s barrier along with Oscar Piastri who was just half a second adrift of the pole time. Although Piastri moves up to the front row of the grid due to Caroline’s ten-place grid penalty from Oulton Park.

Lundqvist’s qualifying performance was made all the more impressive as he clinched pole for the final race of the weekend courtesy of recording the best second-fastest lap of everyone, once again just edging out Caroline who will start alongside him.

It was a case of what might have been for Logan Sargeant who suffered suspension damage with 10 minutes remaining after heavily hitting a kerb, before which he had recorded a time good enough for fourth quickest.

Behind him on the grid will line up TRS Arden’s Alex Quinn and Karl Massaad (Double R Racing). Massaad saved his best until the very end, pumping in his fastest time of the session on his final flyer.
Patrik Pasma, posted the seventh quickest time ahead of Ayrton Simmons. Meanwhile Oliver York was quickest of the Ford F4 Challenge Cup entrants ahead of rival Harry Webb (Richardson Racing), bother drivers breaking into the top 10.

Lucas Alecco Roy will line up 10th when taking into account team-mate Caroline’s penalty, after an excellent qualifying showing in tricky conditions which underlined the progress that the rookie has made so far this season.

The lights will go out for Round 13 of the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost this afternoon at 1445.

F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost

Provisional qualifying times Croft 10 June 2017
Round 13 grid order
1 Linus LUNDQVIST / SWE / Double R 1:30.055
2 Oscar PIASTRI / AUS / Arden 1:30.645
3 Logan SARGEANT / USA / Carlin 1:31.253
4 Alex QUINN / GBR / Arden 1:31.304
5 Karl MASSAAD / LEB / Double R 1:31.453
6 Patrik PASMA / FIN / Carlin 1:31.593
7 Ayrton SIMMONS / GBR / Arden 1:31.977
8 Oliver YORK / GBR / Fortec 1:32.136
9 Harry WEBB / GBR / Richardson 1:32.158
10 Lucas Alecco Roy / GER / Carlin 1:32.491 etc.

Round 15 grid order (based on second-fastest times)
Lundqvist – Caroline – Piastri – Quinn – Massaad – Pasma – Simmons – York – Sargeant – Webb etc.

Full times