Cresswell sets quickest time so far in opening Friday practice

McKenzy Cresswell continued his recent run of form with the quickest time in the opening F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Silverstone.

Days after securing an emphatic double victory at Croft, the JHR Developments racer clocked a fastest lap of 55.997 around the 1.6-mile Northamptonshire circuit, enough to eclipse both Aiden Neate (Phinsys by Argenti) and Matthew Rees (JHR) by 0.024s.

Remarkably, both Neate and Rees set an identical time, the former ahead by virtue of having set it earlier in the 40-minute session. Current championship leader Matias Zagazeta (Phinsys by Argenti) was fourth on this occasion, the Peruvian 5 points ahead of Rees heading into the weekend.

Fortec Motorsport’s Joel Granfors rounded out a top-five separated by just a tenth and a half, the Swede ending the session a tenth in turn clear of Joseph Loake in the final JHR Developments challenger.

Oliver Gray was seventh fastest on this occasion, with Eduardo Coseteng, Marcos Flack (both Argenti) and Kai Askey (Carlin) completing the top ten, the trio blanketed by a mere 0.04s.

Dougie Bolger – the latest addition to the ‘Race Winner’s Club’ and Carlin team-mate Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak were next, with three of Arden Motorsport’s entries – Zak Taylor, Georgi Dimitrov and David Morales – close behind, in that order.

Series newcomer Cameron McLeod rounded out the 17-car field behind James Hedley (Carlin), and only one tenth off the next car in his first competitive outing in Britain’s FIA Formula 4 series.

The weekend continues with Free Practice 2 at 14:45 (BST).

Session Result – Free Practice 1:

Pos. Name Team Time
1 McKenzy CRESSWELL JHR Developments 55.997s
2 Aiden NEATE Phinsys by Argenti +0.024s
3 Matthew REES JHR Developments +0.024s
4 Matias ZAGAZETA Phinsys by Argenti +0.065s
5 Joel GRANFORS Fortec Motorsport +0.148s
6 Joseph LOAKE JHR Developments +0.253s
7 Oliver GRAY Fortec Motorsport +0.304s
8 Eduardo COSETENG Phinsys by Argenti +0.331s
9 Marcos FLACK Phinsys by Argenti +0.358s
10 Kai ASKEY Carlin +0.377s
11 Dougie BOLGER Carlin +0.382s
12 Tasanapol INTHRAPHUVASAK Carlin +0.453s
13 Zak TAYLOR Arden Motorsport +0.513s
14 Georgi DIMITROV Arden Motorsport +0.573s
15 David MORALES Arden Motorsport +0.580s
16 James HEDLEY Carlin +0.614s
17 Cameron McLEOD Arden Motorsport +0.729s