Carlin signs Colton Herta for MSA Formula title bid

  • IndyCar race winner Bryan’s son set to be youngest on the grid for MSA Formula – Certified by FIA, Powered by Ford EcoBoost
  • Bags second seat with Carlin alongside Lando Norris

Colton Herta

19 December, 2014 – Colton Herta, talented son of IndyCar race winner Bryan, is today confirmed as the second driver on the Carlin team’s squad for MSA Formula, Britain’s accredited FIA Formula 4 championship. Californian Herta looks set to be the youngest driver on the 32-car grid for the exciting new Ford EcoBoost-powered series – he turns 15 just five days before April’s Brands Hatch opening rounds.

Despite his tender years, Colton has extensive competitive experience behind him, including many single-seater races in the USA. He started out aged seven, and claimed his maiden race win in his debut season. Since then he has gone on to collect several karting titles, including the IKF KPV2 Championship, SuperKarts USA TaG Cadet Championship, ProKart Challenge championship and International Kart Federation (IKF) Championship. In 2013 he placed second in the Skip Barber Summer Racing Series and, aged 13, won the Pacific F1600 Championship with 10 race victories. This season he contested USF2000.

“Colton is a real talent,” said Carlin boss Trevor Carlin, “and I think he will be a revelation to many people in Europe that maybe haven’t been aware of his racing before. We’ve seen his pace first hand in one of our test cars and from what we’ve seen Colton could be the next great American racing driver.”

Added Colton: “I’m really excited to be joining Carlin for the MSA Formula season. There is a ton of interest in the series and the competition will be incredibly tough, but I know Carlin will give me a great car and support to learn and develop my skills. So many great drivers have developed their careers with Carlin, this is exactly where I want to be. I can’t wait for the season to start.”

Herta joins 15-year-old Briton Lando Norris, the youngest-ever karting world champion, at Carlin; the identity of the team’s third driver is expected to be revealed soon. Carlin is one of the largest teams outside Formula 1, with race-winning experience in a variety of championships including Formula 3, Porsche Supercup, World Series by Nissan, Formula Renault 3.5, A1GP, GP3 and GP2.

Twelve teams will contest MSA Formula – Certified by FIA, Powered by Ford EcoBoost in 2015, the 30-race championship offering live TV and a support-race slot alongside the British Touring Car Championship. Arden Motorsport, Double R Racing, Falcon Motorsport, Fortec Motorsport, JHR Developments, JTR, MBM Motorsport, Richardson Racing, Scorpio Motorsport, SWB Motorsport and Team Pyro will join Carlin on the grid, their drivers bidding to win a slice of the £30,000 cash prize fund and a Hankook-provided prize for the champion of a test drive with a leading FIA Formula 3 team.