Carlin and Zane Maloney end the day quickest at Thruxton

  • Carlin racer sets a new benchmark time and goes fastest in second practice.
  • Lap times drop in warmer track conditions after lunch.
  • Championship heads next to Donington Park on 27th-28th April.

A new quickest time of the day ensured Zane Maloney would finish the second and final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Thruxton at the top of the timesheets.

The Carlin racer put in a best effort of 1:13.419 – two tenths quicker than Tommy Foster had gone in the morning session – to lead the field, with championship leader Sebastian Alvarez (Double R Racing) his closest challenger, 0.242 seconds further back.

Alvarez had been quickest around the 2.36-mile Hampshire speedbowl in the opening exchanges, before a red-flag stoppage as Arden Motorsport’s Alex Connor hit the tyre wall backwards at Church corner.

Once the action resumed, it was JHR’s Carter Williams that stole a march, rising to the top of the times after lowering the benchmark to 1:13.829, and then again by another tenth of a second to answer Alvarez’s challenge.

Both, however, would be usurped by Maloney’s effort with just under 20 minutes left on the clock, and from there the only improvement was from Foster, who put his Arden machine into third, behind Alvarez and ahead of Williams.

Namesake Louis Foster would round out the top five for Double R Racing, edging out JHR’s Josh Skelton by a tenth of a second, with the level of competition underlined yet again with 0.5s splitting the top six.

Fortec Motorsport’s Roberto Faria continued to improve in seventh, with Bart Horsten, Richardson Racing’s Luke Browning and Connor rounding out the top ten, with Reema Juffali in eleventh.

The championship heads next to Donington Park in Leicestershire for the second meeting of the season on 27th-28th April.

Session Result

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin 1:13.419s
2 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.242s
3 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.305s
4 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +0.310s
5 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.427s
6 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.548s
7 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.698s
8 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.883s
9 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +1.011s
10 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +1.062s
11 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +1.119s