Carlin and Maloney fastest yet again as Croft test draws to a close

Another quickest time from Carlin’s Zane Maloney ensured he ends the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost’s two-day test at Croft with a perfect record at the top of the time sheets.

The entire field enjoyed an uninterrupted 3 hours of track time around the 2.1-mile Yorkshire circuit, with teams and drivers taking one last opportunity to learn about the resurfaced tarmac before the next round of the 2019 campaign on 15th-16th June.

Each of Maloney’s benchmark times over the two days have been unofficial lap records, and so it proved the case again, with the Barbados racer clocking a best time of 1:19.200 to lead the way.

His advantage from this morning’s running was significantly reduced, however, with Arden Motorsport’s Alex Connor just 0.1s behind. Connor in turn was less than a tenth clear of Double R Racing’s Sebastian Alvarez – another likely contender for victory in less than a fortnight.

Richardson Racing’s Luke Browning enjoyed his best result of the two days to date, placing fourth ahead of the other two ‘Red Arrows’ of Arden – Tommy Foster ahead of Bart Horsten on this occasion.

Josh Skelton was the quickest JHR driver in seventh, with the second Carlin machine of Joe Turney – gaining invaluable track time after recently being confirmed to contest the Croft meeting with the triple British F4 champions – in eighth.

Roberto Faria bounced back from an off this morning to register ninth for Fortec Motorsport, with team-mate Mariano Martinez eleventh behind Skelton’s JHR team-mate Carter Williams.

Reema Juffali did not participate in the afternoon session, and Louis Foster has been absent all day with exams.

The next competitive outing for Ford’s rising stars is back at Croft over the weekend of 15th-16th June for Rounds 10, 11 & 12.

Session Result – PM (Wednesday)

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin 1m19.200s
2 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.165s
3 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.211s
4 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.379s
5 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.498s
6 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.522s
7 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.684s
8 Joe TURNEY (R) Carlin +0.746s
9 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.837s
10 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +1.036s
11 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.436s