Browning powers to fourth straight win in Knockhill opener

Luke Browning made it four victories on the spin in the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost with a controlled lights-to-flag victory in the opening contest at Knockhill.

The Fortec Motorsport racer made a perfect start from the front of the field and gradually stretched his advantage across the distance to beat Arden’s Alex Connor by 2.7 seconds.

Connor did well to fend off an early attack from Casper Stevenson (Argenti), but was powerless to catch Browning, who equals the record for consecutive victories in Britain’s FIA Formula 4 series, joining Jamie Caroline and 2019 champion Zane Maloney.

Stevenson continued his recent resurgence with the final spot on the rostrum, just ahead of Browning’s closest title challenger Zak O’Sullivan (Carlin), who slips to 35 points behind Browning, but will be delighted with a new race lap record, the 15-year old clocking a 49.443 on the final lap.

O’Sullivan was forced to defend heavily early doors from a charging James Hedley (JHR), but contact with Fortec’s Roberto Faria ended with the BRDC Rising Star in the gravel at Clark.

Faria recovered brilliantly, cutting back through the field to secure seventh, whilst ahead of him a gripping battle for fifth played out between Arden’s Roman Bilinski and JHR’s Abbi Pulling.

Pulling looked to have gotten the switchback on the Polish racer at Taylor’s Hairpin, causing the two to run side-by-side down the main straight.

Pulling went marginally off-circuit on the grass to avoid contact across the line as the pair battled, but rejoined safely and finished just 0.3s behind to round out the top six and secure reverse-grid pole for the second race of the weekend on Sunday morning (10:20 BST).

Rafael Villagomez completed another strong showing for Fortec in eighth, and with it takes the Rookie Cup honours for Round 10.

He kept Carlin’s Christian Mansell at arm’s length, the Australian finishing ninth – and second in class – to extend his lead in the standings.

Argenti Motorsport’s Nico Pino rounds out the top ten – and the three Rookie podium finishers – ahead of Frederick Lubin (Arden), team mate Reema Juffali and Matias Zagazeta (Carlin).

Nat Hodgkiss (JHR) was the only other non-classified finisher, pulling into pit lane with two minutes of the contest remaining.

Provisional Result – Round 10

Pos. Name Team Time
1 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport 25 laps
2 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport +2.725s
3 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +4.375s
4 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin +5.858s
5 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +21.584s
6 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +21.947s
7 Roberto FARIA Fortec Motorsport +22.618s
8 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +24.747s
9 Christian MANSELL Carlin +25.894s
10 Nico PINO Argenti Motorsport +31.298s
11 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +31.898s
12 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +34.282s
13 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +34.998s
DNF Nat HODGKISS JHR Developments
DNF James HEDLEY JHR Developments