British F4 Champions headline McLaren Autosport BRDC Award shortlist

3 October 2018 – The past three winners of the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost title have been named on the four driver shortlist for the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

Just days after securing the 2018 title at Brands Hatch, Double R Racing’s Kiern Jewiss was named as one of the finalists for his impressive performances on track this year, which featured six wins and a record-breaking number of podium finishes.

Kiern also broke the record for most points scored in a season en-route to the title in what was his first season of single-seater racing.

He will be joined on the shortlist by the man he replaces as British F4 champion, Jamie Caroline, as well Max Fewtrell – winner of the crown back in 2016.

The trio will go up against Tom Gamble in the final, which will see drivers undergo a series of fitness and simulator sessions before on-track assessments in a range of cars, including a McLaren GT3 machine and Ligier LMP3 car.

“It’s all a bit of a shock,” Jewiss said. “When the nominations came out and my name was on there it gave me a good feeling. Before that it was just a dream.

“I’ve been to the Autosport Awards and this is the one that stood out. I want to be the one up there at the end of the night. It’s crazy to be selected and the whole thing is special.

“Now that I’m a finalist I’m going to do my homework.”

Jamie enjoyed a record-breaking campaign of his own in 2017 as he clinched the title with Carlin and was unlucky not to be named on the shortlist for the award twelve months ago.

This season he has competed in a number of rounds of the USF2000 series and has been a race winner in selected outings in BRDC British F3.

“The Award wasn’t on my radar,” he said. “I’m more surprised getting in this year than I would have been last year because I’ve had such little seat time. It’s been my hardest season in motorsport.

“I can’t thank the BRDC enough for the support it’s given me this year and this is another lifeline.”

Fewtrell was nominated for the award twelve months ago, when he lost out to fellow British F4 graduate Dan Ticktum.

Max, who also won his title whilst driving for Carlin, leads the Formula Renault Eurocup with two rounds of the season still to run.

“Last year in the Award tests I don’t think I did my best, so I hoped I would get another chance,” he said. “It’s been a good season and I thought I might get another chance in the Award.

“This year I need to prepare a bit better – I took the Award for granted last time.”

The award winner will be named on 2 December.