British F4 alumni out in force at 2018 Autosport Awards ceremony

  • Past three British F4 Champions – Max Fewtrell, Jamie Caroline and Kiern Jewiss – nominated for prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.
  • Series alumni Dan Ticktum wins National Racing Driver of the Year, Lando Norris nominated for Best Rookie after stellar maiden Formula 2 campaign.
  • Ford EcoBoost-powered championship’s worldwide reputation for developing the next generation of motorsport stars underlined on great night in London.

Stars past and present of the F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost were out in force at the annual Autosport Awards at the Grosvenor Hotel in London last night [2nd December].

Britain’s FIA-sanctioned Formula 4 series has garnered a global reputation for providing a race-proven, cost-effective and instructive platform on which the next generation of motorsport talent has thrived since its inception as MSA Formula in 2015, underlined by several success stories at one of the best-regarded award ceremonies in the sport.

The past three British F4 Champions – Max Fewtrell, Jamie Caroline and Kiern Jewiss – were all nominated for the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award, but the main prize eventually went to Tom Gamble.

Formula 3 star and Red Bull Junior Dan Ticktum brought home the National Racing Driver of the Year Award in the latest chapter of a success-laden 2018 campaign for the F4 graduate.

Meanwhile, Lando Norris – the first driver from British F4 to subsequently rise to Formula 1, the pinnacle of the sport – was nominated for Rookie Driver of the Year after a stellar maiden season in the FIA Formula 2 Championship – but was ultimately bested by Ferrari-bound racer Charles Leclerc.

The FIA Prize Giving in St. Petersburg, Russia, is next on a packed calendar of prize-giving ceremonies this month, with FIA British Formula 4 Champion Jewiss on the guest list as he picks up his trophy among the sport’s A-list stars on 7th December.

The race to be his successor – and take the 12 valuable FIA Super License points that go with it – begins in earnest once again next April as another ten-event, thirty-race calendar promising drama, intrigue and wheel-to-wheel action begins at Brands Hatch.

Image credit: LAT Images