Benchmark lowered again as Maloney fastest amid changeable conditions

Zane Maloney maintained his advantage at the top of the timesheets amid changeable conditions in the final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost test session of the day at Croft.

The Carlin racer’s benchmark time from the morning of 1:19.604s – an unofficial lap record for the 2.1-mile Yorkshire circuit – lasted less than 20 minutes of the afternoon’s running, Maloney once again pushing the boundaries with a 1:19.415 on the resurfaced tarmac.

That would prove enough to ensure Maloney ends the day quickest in both sessions, with Arden Motorsport’s Bart Horsten his closest challenger on this occasion, 0.390 seconds adrift.

Double R Racing’s Sebastian Alvarez completed just 17 laps – the fewest of anybody – over the 3-hour session, but still ended up third, a further tenth behind Horsten.

JHR and Motorsport UK Academy racer Josh Skelton was classified fourth despite an off at Tower in the mixed conditions, with light rain hitting the circuit at around the halfway stage of proceedings.

He was just 0.026s ahead of the second Carlin machine of Joe Turney, who had at one stage looked likely to make it a Carlin 1-2 after lunch.

Tommy Foster bounced back well from his damaged front wing this morning to register the sixth quickest time, edging out namesake Louis’ Double R-run machine by 0.079s.

Fortec Motorsport duo Roberto Faria and Mariano Martinez were split by the final Red Arrow of Alex Connor in eighth, ninth and tenth respectively. Connor was another to fall foul of the conditions at Tower with just over ten minutes left on the clock and spent the final few laps sidelined as a result.

The wet conditions meant nobody was able to improve, however, with the 12-car field rounded out by Richardson Racing’s Luke Browning and the final Double R car of Reema Juffali. Carter Williams (JHR) was once again absent.

Testing at Croft resumes tomorrow morning at 09:30 BST.

Session Result – PM (Tuesday)

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin 1m19.415s
2 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.390s
3 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.492s
4 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.510s
5 Joe TURNEY (R) Carlin +0.536s
6 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.611s
7 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.690s
8 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.859s
9 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +1.170s
10 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.213s
11 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +1.393s
12 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +1.764s