Alex Connor sets the benchmark in sun-soaked afternoon practice

Arden Motorsport’s Alex Connor hit the front in a sun-drenched final practice session ahead of this weekend’s F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost season opener at Donington Park.

The Brit came out on top in a series of late improvements, posting a 1:08.085 to eclipse Carlin’s Zak O’Sullivan by 0.262 seconds and take the bragging rights into the first qualifying session of 2020 tomorrow morning.

O’Sullivan, in turn, had not long taken the lead from FP1 pacesetter James Hedley (JHR Developments), who set a near identical time to the morning and ends the day third, 0.351s adrift of the pair.

Luke Browning led the charge for Fortec Motorsport once again in fourth, albeit this time with team mate Roberto Faria snapping at his heels behind in fifth, the margin between them just 0.062s.

Remarkably, the top five were covered by less than half a second in the sweltering heat, and, with the benchmark set to be lowered even further still in the cooler conditions tomorrow, the first pole sitter of the season is still anybody’s guess.

Christian Mansell rounded out a solid day in sixth, just ahead of team mate Matias Zagazeta.

Both Carlin and JHR end the day with a clean sweep of top-ten finishes, Abbi Pulling eighth for Steven Hunter’s outfit with Nathanael Hodgkiss tenth; Argenti Motorsport’s Casper Stevenson split the difference in ninth.

Outside the top ten, Rafael Villagomez (Fortec) was eleventh, just one thousandth of a second behind Hodgkiss.

Roman Bilinski took twelfth ahead of Argenti team mates Nico Pino and Reema Juffali, the order completed by Frederick Lubin in the final Red Arrow.

The competitive action begins tomorrow at 10:30 with Qualifying.

Classification – Free Practice 2

Pos. Name Team Time Laps
1 Alex CONNOR Arden Motorsport 1:08.085 26
2 Zak O’SULLIVAN Carlin +0.262s 23
3 James HEDLEY JHR Developments +0.351s 18
4 Luke BROWNING Fortec Motorsport +0.410s 25
5 Roberto FARIA Fortec Motorsport +0.472s 24
6 Christian MANSELL Carlin +0.608s 23
7 Matias ZAGAZETA Carlin +0.784s 22
8 Abbi PULLING JHR Developments +0.920s 22
9 Casper STEVENSON Argenti Motorsport +0.949s 24
10 Nathanael HODGKISS JHR Developments +1.265s 23
11 Rafael VILLAGOMEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.266s 27
12 Roman BILINSKI Arden Motorsport +1.356s 22
13 Nico PINO Argenti Motorsport +1.470s 11
14 Reema JUFFALI Argenti Motorsport +1.587s 26
15 Frederick LUBIN Arden Motorsport +1.723s 26