Advantage Carlin and Zane Maloney after Knockhill FP3

  • Points leader Zane Maloney ends Knockhill free practice at the sharp end of the field.
  • Closest rivals both in the top five ahead of crucial qualifying.
  • Nine races to go – it’s still anybody’s guess who will be crowned FIA British Formula 4 champion!

Current championship leader Zane Maloney ended the final F4 British Championship certified by FIA – powered by Ford EcoBoost practice session at Knockhill on top of the time sheets.

Improvements came in quick succession during the final runs, with the Bajan racer (now a BRDC Rising Star) posting a best lap time of 49.126 seconds around the 1.26-mile Fife circuit to post a new benchmark time for the weekend ahead of qualifying.

Erstwhile pace-setter Louis Foster (Double R) finished just 0.1 seconds adrift of his title rival, with Bart Horsten (Arden Motorsport) maintaining his one-hundred percent record in the top three across the practice sessions.

The Australian will, however, have to take a five-place grid penalty tomorrow after his penalty at Thruxton.

Josh Skelton (JHR) is surely another ‘one to watch’ after posting the fourth quickest time, with Sebastian Alvarez (Double R) rounding out the top five.

Luke Browning (Richardson Racing) improved to eighth following his mechanical maladies earlier in the day behind Arden’s Tommy Foster and Alex Connor, with Carter Williams (JHR) ninth after an off into the gravel at Macintyre’s, bringing about the only red-flag stoppage of the session.

Roberto Faria rounds out the top ten, ahead of Reema Juffali (Double R), Abbie Munro (Arden) and Mariano Martinez (Fortec).

The weekend’s action at Knockhill continues with qualifying, scheduled for 10:55 (BST) tomorrow (14th September).

Session Result – Free Practice 3

Pos. Driver Team Time
1 Zane MALONEY (R) Carlin 49.126s
2 Louis FOSTER Double R Racing +0.142s
3 Bart HORSTEN Arden Motorsport +0.162s
4 Josh SKELTON JHR Developments +0.306s
5 Sebastian ALVAREZ Double R Racing +0.330s
6 Tommy FOSTER Arden Motorsport +0.408s
7 Alex CONNOR (R) Arden Motorsport +0.412s
8 Luke BROWNING Richardson Racing +0.527s
9 Carter WILLIAMS JHR Developments +0.615s
10 Roberto FARIA (R) Fortec Motorsport +0.711s
11 Reema JUFFALI Double R Racing +0.855s
12 Abbie MUNRO Arden Motorsport +1.144s
13 Mariano MARTINEZ Fortec Motorsport +1.317s